Minnesota State Academies for the Deaf and Blind (MSA)

Public School Early Childhood Education and Care Programs

Public school districts offer a variety of early childhood education programs and services for families and young children aged birth to kindergarten entrance.


The variety of programs listed below offer opportunities for both families and children to enhance their learning and development in ways that achieve positive outcomes for children and support their readiness for kindergarten.

Additional Information

Statewide public school that provides educational services for blind and visually impaired students from birth - age 21.

About This Location

For more information about the specific programs offered by this district or charter school use the "Other Services at this Location" menu located on the right side of this page.

  • Early Childhood Family Education (ECFE) is a program for families and children. It helps parents/caregivers create a positive setting for child development and growth and enrich their parenting skills. The overall goal is to strengthen families.

  • Early Childhood Screening is a quick check to see how a child is growing and developing. Screening is recommended for a child between the ages of 3 and 4. It is required within 30 of starting kindergarten and within 90 days when starting a publicly funded preschool program.

  • Early Childhood Special Education programs provide supports and services to infants, toddlers and preschool children with disabilities and their families.

  • Preschool programs are designed to support 3- and 4-year-olds, so they are ready to start kindergarten. Public school districts have funding for a variety of types of preschool programs with varying eligibility and enrollment criteria. The programs are school readiness, voluntary prekindergarten, or school readiness plus.

For the specific list of programs offered by this district see the "Other Services at this Location" menu on the right side of this webpage.


  • Area Served by County
    • Aitkin County
    • Anoka County
    • Becker County
    • Beltrami County
    • Benton County
    • Big Stone County
    • Blue Earth County
    • Brown County
    • Carlton County
    • Carver County
    • Cass County
    • Chippewa County
    • Chisago County
    • Clay County
    • Clearwater County
    • Cook County
    • Cottonwood County
    • Crow Wing County
    • Dakota County
    • Dodge County
    • Douglas County
    • Faribault County
    • Fillmore County
    • Freeborn County
    • Goodhue County
    • Grant County
    • Hennepin County
    • Houston County
    • Hubbard County
    • Isanti County
    • Itasca County
    • Jackson County
    • Kanabec County
    • Kandiyohi County
    • Kittson County
    • Koochiching County
    • Lac qui Parle County
    • Lake County
    • Lake of the Woods County
    • Le Sueur County
    • Lincoln County
    • Lyon County
    • Mahnomen County
    • Marshall County
    • Martin County
    • McLeod County
    • Meeker County
    • Mille Lacs County
    • Morrison County
    • Mower County
    • Murray County
    • Nicollet County
    • Nobles County
    • Norman County
    • Olmsted County
    • Otter Tail County
    • Pennington County
    • Pine County
    • Pipestone County
    • Polk County
    • Pope County
    • Ramsey County
    • Red Lake County
    • Redwood County
    • Renville County
    • Rice County
    • Rock County
    • Roseau County
    • Scott County
    • Sherburne County
    • Sibley County
    • St. Louis County
    • Statewide
    • Stearns County
    • Steele County
    • Stevens County
    • Swift County
    • Todd County
    • Traverse County
    • Wabasha County
    • Wadena County
    • Waseca County
    • Washington County
    • Watonwan County
    • Wilkin County
    • Winona County
    • Wright County
    • Yellow Medicine County
  • Specialization
    • Blind or visually impaired
    • Children and/or youth with disabilities
    • Deaf or hard-of-hearing
    • Family


All children are welcome and encouraged to participate in an early education program. Criteria for program eligibility and cost vary by program type and district. A sliding fee scale and scholarship options are available. The eligibility requirements are listed for each program type in the list under the "Other Services at this Location" menu on the right side of this page. For more specific information contact the school district.

Application Instructions

Contact your local school district office or school for enrollment information. A Minnesota public school finder is available online.


Programs are free or have a sliding fee scale based on family income. Fees must be waived for families unable to pay. Scholarship options may be available.


615 Olof Hanson Dr, Faribault, MN, 55021

Area Served

Minnesota State Academies

Phone Numbers

  • Primary Contact for this program: 507-384-6600
  • Video: 507-412-5129


Other Services at this Location

Last Update